2016 State Convention elects Gasper as State Deputy

May 1, 2016 - The 116th Annual Meeting of the Virginia Knights of Columbus performed its important task of selecting officers for the 2016-2017 Fraternal Year, and presented awards to outstanding councils as well as Knight and Family of the Year. The convention was held at the Hyatt Regency Dulles Hotel in Herndon, just across Route 28 from a striking view of Dulles International Airport.


Elected to state office for the coming term were:


Michael J. Gasper, as State Deputy;

Stephen J. Kehoe as State Secretary;

Roy F. Blakeburn as State Treasurer;

Edward R. Polich as State Advocate;

and Robert Szerszynski as State Warden.


The state's Knight of the Year Award was given to Nathan E. Murray, of Fitzgerald Council 459 in Alexandria.


The Family of the Year Award went to Jerry and Esperanza Foronda, of San Lorenzo Council 12378 in Virginia Beach.


The winner of the 2016 Young Woman of the Year Award is Rosemary Paulson, of Burke. She was nominated by Fr. Vincent S. Sikora Council 7992 in Burke.


Winner of the 2016 Young Man of the Year Award is Brian Vincent Seimtetz, nominated by Chesapeake Council 8240.


Program Award winners are:


Church Activity of the Year Award - Kempsville Council 10515 in Virginia Beach;


Community Activity of the Year Award - Edward Douglass White Council 2473 in Arlington;


Council Activity of the Year Award - Joseph P. Solari Council 11172 in Glen Allen;


Family Activity of the Year Award - Fr. Edwin F. Kelley Council 5750 in Woodbridge;


Youth Activity of the Year Award - Fredericksburg Council 4034 in Fredericksburg;


Culture of Life Activity of the Year Award - Mother Teresa of Calcutta Council 12117 in Virginia Beach.


Virginia State Council - Knights of Columbus  |  Copyright 2016  |  All rights reserved